| evidence-organoid-1 | The investigators generated hiPSC-derived three-dimensional cardiac organoids and documented growth and cardiac-lineage marker staining. | This is characterization of an in vitro construct. Marker-positive images do not establish mature adult-heart physiology, precise cell proportions, perfused vasculature or fidelity across independent human donors. | Reported geometry: Approximately 500 micrometers at day 2 and approximately 1500 micrometers at day 14, stated in Results 3.1; these are not independently re-estimated bar values.; Lineage readouts: MLC2A, MLC2V, cTnT, CD31 and WT1 immunofluorescence.; Cell source: Commercial human induced pluripotent stem cells; independent donor count and detailed line identity are not specified.; Timing boundary: Figure 1C-D and the results describe day 14, while the differentiation schematic ends at day 13; the schematic is not promoted as an exact reproducible timetable. | In vitro organoid experiment; Journal Pre-proof | This is characterization of an in vitro construct. Marker-positive images do not establish mature adult-heart physiology, precise cell proportions, perfused vasculature or fidelity across independent human donors. | Journal Pre-proof PDF pp. 7, 12-16, Methods 2.3-2.4, Results 3.1-3.2 and Figs. 1A-D and 2A; Fig. 1 is on PDF p. 13 and Fig. 2A on PDF p. 15. | KF1 |
|---|
| evidence-organoid-2 | The CCK-8 screen showed lower viability-associated signal at higher sodium-palmitate concentrations and a non-monotonic response across the displayed glucose conditions. | CCK-8 is an assay of cellular metabolic activity used here as a viability readout. The figure does not provide an absolute surviving-cell count, a validated clinical glucose threshold or a drug dose for patients. The glucose-alone plot and combined glucose/palmitate experiments are separate comparisons. | Exposure duration: 48 hours; followed by 2 hours with CCK-8 reagent and an absorbance measurement at 450 nm.; Palmitate screen: 0, 50, 100, 150, 200, 250 and 300 micromolar are displayed; the 200-300 micromolar groups are below the 0-palmitate comparator.; Glucose screen: 5, 12.5, 25, 33.3 and 50 mM are displayed. The peak is at 25 mM, and the 50 mM bar is below the displayed 5 mM group; no glucose-free group is shown in Fig. 2C.; Reported sample label: Fig. 2 legend: n=6, mean +/- SD; the independent biological-replicate unit is not defined.; Quantitative boundary: No exact viability percentage, effect size or p value is reconstructed from bar heights or significance symbols; no minimum toxic threshold is selected. | In vitro organoid experiment; Journal Pre-proof | CCK-8 is an assay of cellular metabolic activity used here as a viability readout. The figure does not provide an absolute surviving-cell count, a validated clinical glucose threshold or a drug dose for patients. The glucose-alone plot and combined glucose/palmitate experiments are separate comparisons. | Journal Pre-proof PDF pp. 8, 15-16, Methods 2.5-2.6, Results 3.3 and Fig. 2B-C (figure on PDF p. 15; legend on PDF p. 16). | KF2 |
|---|
| evidence-organoid-3 | Under the combined glucose/palmitate conditions, selected apoptosis-related readouts were elevated relative to the labeled control, with lower signals in intermediate-glucose groups than in the group labeled PA/0 mM glucose and the highest-glucose condition. | The evidence comprises BAX/APAF1 mRNA and TUNEL staining in organoids. These readouts support an experimental injury pattern, not a demonstrated clinical apoptotic pathway or proof that an intermediate glucose concentration protects human hearts. | Combined exposure labels: Palmitate fixed at 200 micromolar; glucose labels 0, 5, 12.5, 25, 33.3 and 50 mM, with a separate CON/control group.; Gene readouts: BAX and APAF1 relative mRNA expression measured by RT-qPCR; Table 1 provides primer sequences.; Imaging readout: TUNEL images and red-fluorescence intensity; this is not a reported percentage of apoptotic cells.; Reported sample labels: Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 legends: n=3, mean +/- SD. These are not verified independent donor counts.; Excluded marker directions: TNNT2 and MYH6 are excluded from this claim because their Fig. 3D/H directions do not agree with the blanket prose description in Results 3.4. | In vitro organoid experiment; Journal Pre-proof | The evidence comprises BAX/APAF1 mRNA and TUNEL staining in organoids. These readouts support an experimental injury pattern, not a demonstrated clinical apoptotic pathway or proof that an intermediate glucose concentration protects human hearts. | Journal Pre-proof PDF pp. 10, 17-20, Methods 2.7-2.8, Results 3.4, Fig. 3B-C and Fig. 4; Table 1 primers on PDF pp. 8-10. | KF3 |
|---|
| evidence-organoid-4 | The combined-exposure experiment showed changes in inflammatory and fibrosis-associated readouts alongside altered Masson staining. | TNF, IL6 and IL1B transcription, profibrotic transcripts and staining are experimental correlates of injury in a cultured construct. They do not establish clinical myocardial fibrosis, collagen turnover in patients or a uniquely identified causal mechanism. | Experimental conditions: 200 micromolar palmitate with displayed glucose labels from 0 to 50 mM and a separate control.; Inflammatory markers: TNFA, IL1B and IL6 panels A-C show higher expression in the labeled treatment conditions than CON, with differing responses across glucose groups.; Fibrosis-related markers: COL1A1, FBN1, TGFB1 and CCN2 panels D-G, with Masson quantification and images in H-I.; Reported sample label: Fig. 5 legend: n=3, mean +/- SD; no unique participant or donor total is assigned.; Reporting boundary: No fold-change, collagen percentage or exact p value is digitized from the figure. The Masson readout is reported as staining, not as independently confirmed fibrin deposition. | In vitro organoid experiment; Journal Pre-proof | TNF, IL6 and IL1B transcription, profibrotic transcripts and staining are experimental correlates of injury in a cultured construct. They do not establish clinical myocardial fibrosis, collagen turnover in patients or a uniquely identified causal mechanism. | Journal Pre-proof PDF pp. 8-10 and 20-22, Methods 2.7 and 2.9, Results 3.5 and Fig. 5A-I (figure on PDF p. 21; legend continues on PDF p. 22). | KF4 |
|---|
| evidence-organoid-5 | The paper includes a three-group metformin comparison in which CCK-8 signal and selected expression readouts shifted toward control values in the DCM+MET group. | This is a descriptive comparison of the groups labeled in the pre-proof. The metformin concentration is not stated in the inspected methods, results or legends, and no clinical efficacy or fully reproducible dosing claim is made. | Group labels: CON, DCM and DCM+MET.; Model exposure: Results 3.7 specifies 200 micromolar sodium palmitate plus 33.3 mM glucose; samples were collected 48 hours after intervention in Methods 2.12.; Selected observations: Fig. 8A shows a higher CCK-8 signal in DCM+MET than DCM; Fig. 7 BAX/APAF1 and Fig. 8 BAX/COL1A1 panels show lower signals in the labeled DCM+MET group than DCM.; Reported sample labels: Fig. 7 legend: n=3; Fig. 8A legend: n=6. Independent biological replication and the separate Western-blot sample count are not specified.; Missing dosing information: Metformin concentration, precise independent replicate definition and raw observations were not supplied in the acquired file. No dose, percentage rescue or effect size is inferred. | In vitro organoid experiment; Journal Pre-proof | This is a descriptive comparison of the groups labeled in the pre-proof. The metformin concentration is not stated in the inspected methods, results or legends, and no clinical efficacy or fully reproducible dosing claim is made. | Journal Pre-proof PDF pp. 11-12 and 23-25, Methods 2.12-2.14, Results 3.7 and Figs. 7-8; Fig. 7 on PDF p. 24 and Fig. 8 on PDF p. 25. | KF5 |
|---|